24 Hours of Le Mans

If I could describe my last week and a half in three words, they would be: eventful, exhausting, and unforgettable. I had the opportunity to volunteer in the communication department of ACO (Automobile Club de L’Ouest) as I serviced the questions and comments from anglophone visitors for the 24 Hours of Le Mans race.

I am so extremely grateful and lucky to have received this opportunity, at one point I didn’t feel like I even deserved it. As a complete novice when it comes to almost anything car related, I was thrust into a world I had never been exposed to: the world of professional automobile racing.

The 24 Hours of Le Mans is the worlds “best” automobile race. This year Le Mans was host to over 250,000 spectators and brought celebrities like Brad Pitt, Jackie Chan and Keanu Reeves to the event. The race last only 24 hours through the weekend but the events begin long before that.

The “pesage” involves the weighing of the vehicles. This starts the weekend before the race. It lasts two days and is held right in the city centre at the Place de la République.

Next are the qualifications which are held at the circuit. You can attend these days – a significantly less expensive option.

I was able to visit the LMP3 cars as they prepared for their qualifying run:

 

The Friday before the race is the parade. It’s a chance for the crowd to view all of the teams and their cars up close (also if you were lucky: Jackie Chan) if you can get there early enough to have a decent spot. Fortunately my apartment has a pretty decent perspective!

IMG_2339

Then there’s race day. As I was a volunteer, I arrived at 7:30am. It was quite tranquil at this time of day, but naturally that did not last.

Check out the slideshow below for some photos I feel can only tell a fraction of the story of my more than 34 hours at the circuit!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All in all, a spectacular experience that has inspired me to learn about a sport I never took interest in, and convinced me to return next year once again to see and work alongside all of the amazing people I have met.

*Some practical information (for next year.. sorry):

-Trams run 24 hours from Saturday to Sunday during the event but verify the tram times during the other days because often they end around 1 or 2am.

-Women! Don’t miss this awesome opportunity!! The Pavillon des femmes offers free cosmetic and wellness services. Verify their opening time because it is different each day (they’re open on qualification days as well – less busy). I had a free manicure and massage. Don’t expect anything too professional but it’s free so who cares, right ?

-If you have general tickets and want good seats on race day, arrive at 7:30am. There was barely anyone there at that time but it fills in quite quickly!

Leave a comment